The Division of Las Piñas City was formally opened on July 2, 1997 with the grant of cityhood to the former town of Las Piñas. Pursuant to Section 44 of the Las Piñas Charter, otherwise known as Republic Act No. 8251, the City Schools Division was officially created and was officially separated from the Division of Parañaque – Las Piñas (PARLAS) during a formal turnover ceremony held on June 27, 1997.